facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

2017 Student Commencement Greeter and Runner-Up Contestants

It's Otterbein tradition that we have a student commencement greeter contest. Although there can only be one winner, the contestants' speeches were excellent and we wanted to give you the opportunity to read not only the chosen speaker's words, but excerpts from the finalists' speeches as well.

2017 Student Commencement Greeter: Jordan Hawkins

Jordan Hawkins is the 2017 Otterbein student commencement greeterJordan Hawkins is a political science major, with minors in sociology and criminology & justice studies, from Cleveland, Ohio.

Hawkins is very involved on campus, serving as the vice president of the African American Student Union, president of the student organization Men of Vision, vice president of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity and former member of the men's lacrosse team. Hawkins also is a student leader as a resident assistant and organizer of numerous campus events and discussions.

In his application to be the 2017 student commencement greeter, Hawkins wrote: “the greatest experience one could take away from their collegiate years is not just a degree, but making great friends in this harmonious community of Otterbein. For four years we obtained not only just the skills to obtain a degree, but we found ourselves and grew in spirit with one another. Practicing radical empathy combined with the unique skills we have obtained at Otterbein will ensure that the changes we seek to make in our society come from us. Let’s get to work, let’s love one another, let’s put ourselves in someone else’s shoes before we judge, and let’s take the world by storm with grace and in harmony.”

Student Commencement Runner-Up Contestants

  • Kris Crews

  • Regan Donoughe

  • Wafaa Jallaq

  • Chad McCray

  • Tim and Troy Neptune

  • Abby Rogers

  • Maria Slovikovski

  • Yilan Sun

/ Registrar

The Office of the Registrar is located in Towers Hall, Room 27.
p/ 614.823.1350 
f/ 614.823.1009 


Business Hours 
Monday - Friday:

8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

Mailing Address: 
Otterbein University 
Office of the Registrar 
1 South Grove Street 
Westerville, OH 43081