facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

Leadership Development

< Back to Consulting Services

Institutional leadership often emerges from within the faculty, yet few faculty members have explicit preparation for the roles of department chair or dean. The CTL, in collaboration with the Office of Academic Affairs, facilitates and provides limited support and training for those faculty members who are intentionally working to develop their leadership skills.

To schedule a consultation, contact Kathryn Plank, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, 614-823-1034.


  • Department/Program Chair Workshop on Curriculum Revision, September 2009
  • Department Chair Workshop on Teaching Evaluation, December 2007
    (CTL contribution limited to helping chairs conduct productive observations and provide formative feedback on teaching)
  • Professional Learning Community for Department Chairs: Supporting One Another in Developing Leadership, 2009-10.

    Michele Acker, Psychology
    Andrew Mills, Religion and Philosophy

    Suzanne Ashworth, English
    Sue Constable, Education
    Don Eskew, Business, Accounting, and Economics
    Hal Lescinsky, Life and Earth Sciences
    Bruce Mandeville, Equine Science
    Susan Millsap, Communication
    Joan Rocks, Health and Sport Science
    Barb Schaffner, Nursing
    John Stefano, Theater and Dance
    Lois Szudy, Library

/Center for Teaching and Learning

The CTL is located on the 3rd floor of Courtright Memorial Library
p/ 614.823.1035
f/ 614.823.1921
e/ ctl@otterbein.edu


The CTL Studio
Courtright Memorial Library, 3rd Floor
Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.,
or by appointment
p/ 614.823.1064
e/ ctl@otterbein.edu


CTL Staff
Kathryn Plank
p/ 614.823.1034
e/ kplank@otterbein.edu


Colin Saunders
Senior Learning Designer
p/ 614.823.1875
e/ csaunders@otterbein.edu


Peggy McMains
Program Coordinator
p/ 614.823.1035
e/ pmcmains@otterbein.edu


German Vargas Ramos
Instructional Design Support
p/ 614.823.1065
e/ gvargasramos@otterbein.edu

Facebook Twitter Facebook