facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

Awards and Contests

Quiz & Quill Awards

Each year, Quiz & Quill coordinates poetry, religious poetry, fiction, historical fiction, essay, and dramatic writing contests open to any Otterbein student. Visit their website for submission guidelines and deadlines.

Student Travel Grants

The English Department annually awards travel grants to current English majors seeking assistance to complete archival or field research for critical or creative work, travel to literary festivals or readings, or participate and/or present their work at creative or scholarly conferences. Learn more about application guidelines and deadlines. 

Departmental Awards

Awarded annually through faculty nomination and faculty vote.

  • Cassady Scholarship: Excellence in creative or critical writing
  • Cramer Award: Excellence in academics, leadership, and commitment to the university community
  • Fisher Award: Excellence in creative writing
  • Joining Hands: Excellence in student teaching
  • Myers Award: Excellence in critical or interpretive writing
  • Roberts Award: Excellence in leadership and commitment to Quiz & Quill
Professor Beth Daugherty

Coming Soon: The Daugherty Promise Scholarship

Professor's Gift Seeds Scholarship, and Offers the Promise of a Quality Education for Future English Majors

In the Spring of 2016, our very own Professor Beth Daugherty and her husband generously gave a $25,000 gift to the University to seed a new scholarship just for English majors at Otterbein.  But in order to ensure the long-term sustainability of this scholarship, we need to double that amount before we can begin giving out awards.  Read the story and find out how you can help!

/ Department of English

Margaret Koehler
Department Chair
Towers Hall 2289

p / 614.823.1224
e/ mkoehler@otterbein.edu

/ Also see...