facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
 
Academics

Faculty and Staff

Suzanne Ashworth

Associate Professor (Ph.D. and M.A., English, The Pennsylvania State University; B.A. English, Miami University, Oxford OH)
Office: Towers 232
614.823.1162 
sashworth@otterbein.edu

Tammy Birk

Assistant Professor and Director of the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (Ph.D. and M.A. in English and Master of Liberal Studies, The Ohio State University; B.A. History, Philosophy, and Political Science, minor in Women's Studies, Miami, University, Oxford OH)
Office: Towers 329 
614.823.1759 
tbirk@otterbein.edu

Phyllis Lynne Burns

Associate Professor and Faculty Advisor for Sigma Tau Delta (Ph.D. English, Michigan State University; M.A. and B.A. English ,journalism minor, Western Michigan University)
Office: Towers 330
614.823.1221
plburns@otterbien.edu

Norman Chaney

Professor (Ph.D. Religion and Literature, University of Chicago; M.Div. Theology, English, and Comparative Literature, Yale University; M.A. Comparative Literature, Indiana University-Bloomington; B.A. English and Philosophy, Indiana Central College now The University of Indianapolis)
Office: Towers 233
614.823.1560
nchaney@otterbein.edu

Beth Rigel Daugherty

Professor (Ph.D. and M.A. English, Rice University; B.A. English with secondary education certificate, Mount Union College)
Office: Towers 226
614.823.1659
bdaugherty@otterbein.edu

Paul Eisenstein

Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences (Ph.D., M.A. and B.A. in English, The Ohio State University)
Office: Towers 333
614.823.1609
peisenstein@otterbein.edu

Patti Frick

Professor (Ph.D. and M.A. English Literature, University of Toronto; B.A. English and French, University of Rochester)
Office: Towers 332
614.823.1572
pfrick@otterbein.edu

Jim Gorman

Professor (Ph.D. and M.A. English - Fiction Writing, Ohio University; B.A. English, John Carroll University)
Office: Towers 225
614.823.1133
jgorman@otterbein.edu

Terry Hermsen

Associate Professor and Director of Creative Writing (Ph.D. Art Education, Ohio State University; M.F.A. Poetry Writing, Goddard College; B.A. English, Wittenberg University)
Office: Towers 234
614.823.1893
thermsen@otterbein.edu

Abhijat Joshi

Associate Professor (M.F.A. University of Texas at Austin)
Office: Towers 240
614.823.1160
ajoshi@otterbein.edu

Margaret Koehler

Associate Professor, Director of Literary Studies, and Chair of Writing Intensive Program (Ph.D. English Literature, Emory University; B.A. English Literature; Wesleyan University)
Office: Towers 229
614.823.1224
mkoehler@otterbein.edu

Shannon Lakanen

Associate Professor, Department Chair, and Faculty Advisor for Quiz & Quill (Ph.D. Nonfiction Writing, Ohio University; M.A. Poetry Writing, Florida State University; B.A. Creative Writing, University of Tampa)
Office: Towers 228
614.823.1211
slakanen@otterbein.edu

Jeremy Smith

Professor (Ph.D. Comparative Literature, Indiana University-Bloomington; M.A. Comparative Literature and B.A. Philosophy, Indiana University)
Office: Towers 331
614.823.1797
jhsmith@otterbein.edu

Karen Steigman

Associate Professor, Director of Film Studies Program, and Director of Honors Program (Ph.D. English, University of Minnesota; M.A.H. English and Comparative Literatures, SUNY-Buffalo, B.A. English, SUNY-Buffalo)
Office: Towers 227
614.823.1087
ksteigman@otterbein.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Candyce Canzoneri
Adjunct Instructor (M.F.A. Creative Writing - Fiction, The Ohio State University; B.A. English & History, University of Mississippi)
ccanzoneri@otterbein.edu

Dr. Timothy M. Christensen

Adjunct Assistant Professor (Ph.D. English Literature, Michigan State University; M.A. English Literature, Western Michigan University; B.A. History, Hope College)
tchristensen@otterbein.edu

Richard Gilbert
Adjunct Assistant Professor (M.F.A. Creative Nonfiction Writing, Goucher College; M.A. Journalism, Ohio State University; B.S. Journalism, University of Florida)
rgilbert@otterbein.edu 

Amanda Page
Adjunct Assistant Professor (M.F.A. Creative Writing, University of Alabama; B.S.S. Writing and Women's Studies, Ohio University)
apage1@otterbein.edu

Hannah Stephenson
Adjunct Instructor (M.A. and B.A. English, Ohio State University) 
hstephenson@otterbein.edu

Staff

Jennifer Hunter
Academic Administrative Assistant
Office: Towers 124
614.823.1218
jhunter@otterbein.edu

/ Department of English

Shannon Lakanen
Department Chair
Towers Hall 228

p / 614.823.1211
e / slakanen@otterbein.edu 

/ Also see...