facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

News and Events


Congratulations to team Otterbein - 1st place for the second year in a row at the Ohio Athletic Training Association Quiz Bowl! The team: Nate Gawarecki, Cade Coulter, Anthony Wene and Lydia Barnes.

Cardinal Leadership Award Recipients:

Tonia Dunson Dillard-Pack Fellow for 2017-18 
Athletics, Recreation, Health & Wellness:  Caleb Norton
Professional Development:  Liz Engle Kerran 
Cardinal Pride:  Chad Karnes 
President’s Volunteer Service Award Caleb Norton, Katie Miller, Ladan Barnes, Malerie Takach, Stephanie Ohalek, Victoria Timmons
Cardinal Leadership (seniors):  Malerie Takach 
Devore Humanitarian Award: Victoria Timmons
Van Sant Leadership Certificate: Victoria Timmons, Christen Kelly, Malerie Takach
HSS Departmental Scholarship Recipients:
Hannah Lawrentz, Cassidy Lechner, Cassidy Caito, Claire LeGendre, Jessica Lesesky, Katie A. Miller, Stephanie Ohalek
Marilyn E. Day Endowed Award: Tonia Dunson-Dillard, Chad Karnes, Meggin Kelley, Alyssa Spencer, Hannah Watkins
Harold C. Martin Memorial Scholarship: Holly Bernhold
Elmer W. ’Bud’ Yoest ‘53 Endowed Award: Erin Taylor, Hannah Whiston

Faculty/Staff/Alumni Recognition:

Dr. Shelley Payne-Presidents  Above and Beyond  Recognition for March 2017.
Allied Health Professor, Curriculum Chair, and student research advisor.
Patti Wilson- Exemplary  Teaching Award of the United  Methodist Church recipient 2017. HSS & FYS instructor and Faculty Liaison for the 5 Cards.
Dr. Kristy McCray- Otterbein  University New Teacher of the  Year Award recipient 2017. Sport Management Professor.
Annette Boose-Otterbein  Women’s Forum Bread &  Roses Award recipient 2017. HSS Academic Administrative Assistant, alumna, and  co-chair of the Faculty & Staff Committee for STAND campaign. 
Kate Weale - Ohio Athletic  Trainers Association Athletic  Trainer of the Year recipient 2017.  Athletic Trainer for Grandview  Heights City Schools, alumna and HSS Leadership Advisory  Board member.
Melica Hampton-New Jersey Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association Honoree of the Year 2017, alumna and author.
Jessica Buschmann, RD, LD-  Otterbein University part -time  Teacher of the Year recipient 2016. Dietician for Nationwide  Children’s Hospital, alumna, HSS Leadership Advisory Board member.

Dr. Joan Rocks -Ohio Athletic  Trainers Association (OATA)  Hall of Fame Inductee-2016.  HSS Department Chair &  Athletic Training Program  Director.
Congrats to alumna Sheronda Whitner for being recognized by the Ohio Society for Public Health. Sheronda is exemplary role model and leader for women in the Public Health field! She also serves on our HSS Leadership Advisory Board 

Club Offerings

Our department offers the following opportunities for student club involvement through the following clubs:

  • Health Professions Club-open to all HSS majors-Advisor Dr. Erin Baumann x3559
  • OCATS (required for athletic training students) Advisor-Danielle Kilboy, Assistant Athletic Trainer x3507
  • Sport Management Club-open to Sport Management majors & minors-Advisor Dr. Walter x3512

Eta Sigma Gamma

Public Health Honorary-Contact Dr. Rob Braun for details

HSS Newsletters for Current Student and Alumni

Learn more about what is happening in our department regarding students, faculty/staff and the community.

Current Students 

Alumni News - HSS Advocate

/ Department of Health and Sport Sciences

Center of Health & Sport Sciences 
New Location:
140 Center Street 

Annette Boose

p/ 614.823.3528
e/ aharting@otterbein.edu

/ Also see...

Facebook Twitter Instagram