facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
Campus Life

Martin Luther King Jr. Peace & Justice Awards

About the Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015-2016 Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace and Justice Awards. Any member of the Otterbein community is eligible to receive this award in one of three categories: faculty/staff, student or organization. To nominate a faculty/staff, student or organization please fill out our Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace and Justice Awards form with the name of the nominee and a brief statement as to why you believe the individual or organization should receive the award no later than December 4, 2015.

Otterbein University promotes individual self-awareness and responsibility to and for the greater society. It encourages faculty, staff, and students to educate themselves and demonstrate humane values, much like Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The Award for Peace and Justice established in his honor is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Convocation to members of the Otterbein community who demonstrate the ideals he represented.

Any member of the faculty, staff or administration, student, or recognized campus organization at Otterbein University is eligible to receive the award and to nominate recipients. A committee reviews nominations and selects the recipients each year. The recipient should:

  • be involved in activities on the campus or in the community which serves to balance inequities;
  • encourage like philosophies among others;
  • promote equity and equality in the classroom and/or community;
  • teach or demonstrate the principles of nonviolence in solving problems.

See the past recipients of the award in the video below.

Past MLK Recipients:

2015 - Staff of Courtright Memorial Library, Phyllis Burns, Amelia Gramling. Josh Brandon
2014 - The Center for Teaching and Learning, Dr. Grace McDaniel, Eshakhia Sobukwe
2013 - Diane Ross, Chelsea Jenney
2012 - Lois Szudy, Vian Yohn
2011 - Melissa Gilbert, Kathryn Livisay/Fallon Forbush
2010 - Heidi Ballard, Terri Carter, Staff Council
2009 - C. Brent DeVore, James Prysock
2008 - Margaret Koehler, Maggie Livisay
2007 - Monty Bradley, Micah Gibbons
2006 - Denise Hatter-Fisher, Mark Haynes
2005 - Lucia Jeantine, Lauren Suveges
2004 - Demetrius Richardson, Dan James
2003 - John Kengla, Jason T. Jenkins
2002 - LaJoyce M. Cain, Andre Lampkins
2001 - Willie C. Franklin, Kochiya T. McDade
2000 - Joyce Jadwin, Eileen Francisco
1999 - Andrea Brown, Darryl A. Peal
1998 - Elizabeth A. Smith, Melissa Johnson
1997 - Robert M. Gatti, Nicole Buran
1996 - James R. Larson, Jeanne M. Talley

/ Office of Diversity

The Office of Diversity is located in Student Affairs in Hanby Hall.

Office Hours

M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (academic year)

M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (summer)

James E. Prysock, III

Assistant Director
p / 614.823.1312

Amy Lux
Administrative Assistant
p / 614.823.1250