facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
The Graduate School

From the Dean

Fall at Otterbein University

November 4, 2015

Fall is well known as one of the most beautiful seasons at Otterbein and in Westerville.  As in all fall seasons, trees take center stage, their colors, their forms, and their grandeur.  Please take just a moment and accept some “Advice from a Tree”, a poem written by Ilan Shamir.  

I believe this advice can be viewed as a parallel with your graduate education at Otterbein – it describes you, your talents and aspirations as an Otterbein graduate student:

Advice From a Tree
Dear Friend
Stand Tall and Proud
Sink your roots deeply into the Earth
Reflect the light of your true nature
Think long term
Go out on a limb
Remember your place among all living beings
Embrace with joy the changing seasons
For each yields its own abundance
The Energy and Birth of Spring
The Growth and Contentment of Summer
The Wisdom to let go like leaves in the Fall
The Rest and Quiet renewal of Winter

Feel the wind and the sun And delight in their presence
Look up at the moon that shines down upon you
And the mystery of the stars at night
Seek nourishment from the good things in life
Simple pleasures
Earth, fresh air, light
Be content with your natural beauty
Drink plenty of water
Let your limbs sway and dance in the breezes
Be flexible
Remember your roots
Enjoy the view!

I hope you have the opportunity this fall to enjoy the outdoors and all the beauty of another summer gone by.  Do remember your roots, especially those grown and nurtured while at Otterbein.

Barbara Schaffner, Dean

/ The Graduate School

The Graduate School is located in Roush Hall, room 208.

Office Hours
M-F: 8:30 am – 5:00 pm

p/ 614.823.3210
e/ grad@otterbein.edu

/ Personnel

Barbara Schaffner
p/ 614.823.1735
e/ bschaffner@otterbein.edu

Terry Magas
Assistant to the Dean
p/ 614.823.3274
e/ tmagas@otterbein.edu

Gaby Miller
Graduate Education Recruiter/Counselor MAT
p/ 614.823.1346
e/ gmiller@otterbein.edu

Dorothy Crider

Graduate Nursing Admission Recruiter/Counselor
p/ 614.823.3272
e/ dcrider@otterbein.edu

Amy Featherstone
Graduate Education and MAEM Recruiter/Counselor MAE
p/ 614.823.3271
e/ afeatherstone@otterbein.edu

Patricia Hohlbein
MBA and Allied Health Program Recruiter
p/ 614.823.1095
e/ phohlbein@otterbein.edu

Deb Williams
Admission and Data Management Coordinator
p/ 614.823.3270
e/ dwilliams@otterbein.edu