facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

Young Alumni Awards


The University’s commitment to experiential learning, realized through the Five Cardinal Experiences, proudly offers a point of national distinction. The Young Alumni awards are given in recognition to those age 40 and younger whose contributions exemplify one of Otterbein’s Five Cardinal Experiences: Community Engagement, Global and Intercultural Engagement, Professional Achievement, Leadership and Citizenship, and Research or Creative Achievement. The Otterbein Young Alumni Awards are held annually during Homecoming.

Congratulations to the 2015 Young Alumni Awards recipients! These distinguished young alumnae will accept their awards during Homecoming Weekend 2015 in September:


MaryBeth Bailar Heath ‘05
Award: Professional Achievement
Heath, of Pinehurst, North Carolina, is a clinical neuropsychologist with Pinehurst Neuropsychology. According to her nominator, Dr. Robert Kraft, MaryBeth "is truly a renaissance person, doing clinical work, writing, researching, and teaching -- in academia and in the community. After receiving her Psy.D. in 2010, she did postdoctoral training in the VA Boston Healthcare System and then held three academic appointments: a faculty member at Keiser University, a teaching fellow at Boston University, and a clinical fellow at Harvard Medical School."  


Maggie Ellison ‘10
Award: Leadership/Citizenship
Ellison, of Columbus, Ohio, is a volunteer, coach, and community leader. Her commitment to serve the greater good is evidenced in her work with Big Brothers Big Sisters, 1Girl, Vaud-Villities, Columbus City Schools I Know I Can, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Women for Economic Leadership and Development, and the Otterbein Young Alumni Advisory Board. In her professional life, Ellison serves as the Director of Creative Experiences with Event Marketing Strategies. According one of her nominators, Johnny Steiner '96, Maggie is "without doubt an exceptional human being, and deserving of this and any accolades bestowed upon her."


Eryn Campbell Hathaway ‘11
Award: Community Engagement
Hathaway, of Columbus, Ohio, is the founder and CEO of Eryn PiNK, an organization serving girls and teens in the community through mentoring, special events, workshops and speaking engagements. Her nominator, Dr. Lisa Phillips, noted "...she has empowered hundreds of girls to embrace the power of girlhood, and learn how to define themselves in a society which is sending many negative messages about what it means to be a girl. Eryn PiNK was started while Eryn was a student and it is exciting to see what it has become in only 4 years."


Sadie Bartholomew Ingle ‘07
Award: Research/Creative Achievement
Ingle, of Menlo Park, CA, earned her Ph.D. in biochemistry from Stanford University and currently works in research and development at MyoKardia, a biotech startup in the Bay area of CA that is developing treatments for heart disease. According to her nominator, Dr. John Tansey of the Dept. of Chemistry at Otterbein, Sadie "was awarded a National Science Foundation Scholarship and several other distinguished honors including a travel award to the American Society for Cell Biology."


Victoria Libertore ‘97
Award: Research/Creative Achievement
Libertore, of New York City, New York, is an actress, writer, curator, emcee, and teacher. She is the creator of six solo shows and is passionate about encouraging other artists to create their own work. She was a 2-year artist in residency at the Brooklyn Arts Exchange and works tirelessly to curate performance art. According to her nominator, Ben Hauck '98, Victoria has "supreme dedication to performance at a level commanding of critical respect and pushing the artistic boundaries of what can be achieved on the stage." Photo credit: Michelle Temple.


Rae Reed ‘11
Award: Community Engagement
Reed, of Columbus, Ohio, is the founder of WordUp, LLC, which assists small businesses with writing and content needs. As a student at Otterbein, Rae developed a strong interest in working on behalf of women and girls in our community to make meaningful change. She organized the first "Columbus Rising" event in 2015 at the Columbus Museum of Art, a movement to end gender violence against women and girls. Due to her efforts to support gender equality, she was named one of Columbus Young Professionals' "Young Professionals to Know" in 2014. According to her nominator, Dr. Tammy Birk, Rae "is a true champion for women and girls in all stages of life, and Rae exemplifies what I would hope that our WGS graduates would choose to do with their talents in the world."

See images from the 2014 Young Alumni Awards Ceremony.

Watch the 2014 individual winner acceptance speeches:

Young Alumni Awards 2014 Ceremony

0:00 / 0:00

Community Engagement Award

  • 2014 - Evelyn Davis-Walker ’00

  • 2014 - Kathryn Felsenthal Stephens ’97

  • 2013 - David Riepenhoff ‘99

  • 2012 - Jonathan Juravich '05

  • 2012 - Zach Reat '05

  • 2011 - Carli Amlin Dean '99

Global and Intercultural Engagement Award

  • 2013 - Devon Kuntzman ’06

  • 2012 - Sarah Martindell '08

  • 2011 - Scott Lacy '93

Research/Creative Achievement Award

  • 2014 - Katherina Nikzad-Terhune ’03

  • 2013 - Research Achievement - Robert B. Lettan II Ph.D. ’02

  • 2013 - Creative Achievement - Michelle Given ‘05

  • 2012 - Sam Jaeger '99

  • 2011 - Dr. Erica Hlavin Bell '05

  • 2011 - Rebecca Rossiter Lachman '04

Professional Achievement Award

  • 2014 - Sonya Lowmiller Higginbotham ‘98

  • 2014 - Katherine Peyton McGrath ‘97

  • 2013 - Sheryl Warren-Wisniewski ’00

  • 2012 - Scott Fais '98

  • 2012 - Julie Longstreth Moorehead '95

  • 2011 - Melissa Johnson '99

  • 2011 - Michael Morgan '93

Leadership and Citizenship Award

  • 2014 - Andre Lampkins ’03

  • 2014 - Erin Stewart Miller ’97

  • 2013 - Tyler TerMeer '05

  • 2013 - Stacie Oliver ’98

  • 2012 - Kate Visconti Hagemann '97, MBA '03

  • 2012 - J. Robert Burk '00

  • 2011 - Wendy Peterson Bradshaw '95

  • 2011 - Jason Jenkins '04

/ Office of Alumni Relations

The Office of Alumni Relations is located in Howard House, 
131 W. Park St.

Office Hours
M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (summer)

p/ 614.823.1650
f/ 614.823.2023

/ We've Moved!

Learn more about 
Howard House
which turned 100 in 2014.

/ Update your information

To inform us of changes to your personal information, contact the Office of Alumni Relations at (614) 823-1650, alumniinfo@otterbein.edu or update your information online

/ Get Involved

There are many ways to get involved.

/ Also See...

Facebook Twitter Flickr LinkedIn