0:00 / 0:00

William E. LeMay '48 & Helen Hilt LeMay '47

Born on June 5, 1924, Bill LeMay received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Otterbein College in 1948, a master’s degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 1949, and an honorary doctor of science degree from Otterbein in 1973.

Helen LeMay graduated from Otterbein with a bachelor’s degree in biology and chemistry in 1947. Before having children, Helen worked in the Chemistry Department at the University of Colorado and then as a researcher for Monsanto Chemical in Dayton, Ohio.

The LeMays are among Otterbein’s most generous donors, having given to every major campaign taking place during their lifetime. The LeMays’ philanthropic leadership, service and commitment throughout a 55-year span of giving has truly advanced Otterbein’s mission and leaves a legacy of lasting impact for future generations. Bill has received more than two dozen patents in application, equipment and formulation of vinyl technology, and established six companies, including co-founding Waytek Corporation, where he was chairman of the board until his retirement. Helen owned and operated Gravel Hill Gifts, a gift shop on the main street in Waynesville, Ohio.

For his services and professional success, Bill received the Distinguished Alumni Award in 1997 and Distinguished Service to Otterbein Award in 1983. Bill was a member of the Otterbein Board of Trustees from 1971 to 2007, serving on many committees and as chairman of the board. In May 2007, the Board
granted him emeritus status. Helen is an active member of the Dayton Otterbein Women’s Club, and served on the Alumni Council.

Both Bill and Helen served on their 50th reunion committees and the committee for the Junebug Jamboree Committee, an annual event that takes place at their home; chaired the Campaign for Otterbein; and have attended several Cardinal Migrations, donor recognition events and alumni weekends. 

The LeMays have often been called on to lead hometown fundraising efforts.  They spearheaded the effort to build Waynesville’s new Bicentennial Park, helped to establish an endowment for the Miami Cemetery and a countywide community fund, and were instrumental in raising funds to establish the Stubbs Memorial Health Center. 

Through Bill’s leadership, the Greater Wayne Township Improvement Corporation was established to help to address the medical needs of the community. He is an active member of the Waynesville Rotary Club, served as president of the trustees for the Oakwood Methodist Church and served as a trustee of the City Mission of Dayton. He was named Citizen of the Year by the city of Waynesville in 1997. Helen served as president of the Waynesville Historical Society and secretary for the Waynesville Chamber of Commerce.

Mary B Thomas Award Seal


The Division of Institutional Advancement is located in Howard House at 131 W. Park St.

Office Hours
M-F: 8:30am - 5:00pm

Contact Donor Recognition 
Cathy Carson, Director of Donor Relations & Stewardship
p/ 614.823.1261