Business Analytics Competition Team

Otterbein University has been competing annually in the Manhattan College Analytics Competition since 2017.

The competition usually focuses on matters related to public policy, societal good, and institutions. Recent topics have centered on understanding pandemics, predicting energy consumption, and allocating federal funding for primary and secondary education.

Participation remains open to any student who maintains full time status as of the Spring term and regardless of major.

In late January, the team receives a dataset and has roughly three months to organize and analyze it. A poster submission is due in mid-April with the competition held in late April. Starting with the 2021 competition, the format has been a one-day competition held virtually. All teams present in the morning heat. Finalists present in the afternoon heat.

In 2019, the team finished fifth and earned hardware. Most recently in 2022, the team took seventh out of 30 teams. Participation is open to any undergraduate student who is pursuing a degree full time at Otterbein. Recent participants of Otterbein students are from marketing and business analytics programs at the Department of Business, Accounting & Economics. If you would like to participate or want more information, then please contact Dr. Michael Levin.

2022 Student Participants from left Morgan Limmer, Hannah Stapp, & Ryan Estes

Manhattan Analytics competition

Students collected and analyzed cross sectional and time series data to determine the effectiveness of mitigation efforts on Covid-19. Developed KPI’s and guided research collecting, cleaning, and processing data about the pandemic.

  • Cleaned and merged 6 separate data sources
  • Performed K-means cluster analysis and then regression based on cluster memberships
  • Effectively communicated and presented insights using Tableau

Past Students Participants

Victoria Eastep
Alex Keister
Lauren Kess
Patrick McFarland

2020 (Cancelled)
Kyle Deep
Vincent Masoni
Ben Sauter
Jaden Walton

Ahmad Ahmad
Montana McKnight
Bryce Perram
Alexandra Schmitter

2018 (Team A)
Hannah Eliades
Adam Grumman
Kyle Minyo
Hannah Strack

2018 (Team B)
Tyler Grover
Alexandra Schmitter

Jacob Watson
Grayson (CCAD)