Thank you, donors!

by | May 21, 2021 | Philanthropy.

The Heather Walker MSN’18 Memorial Scholarship was created this year after Heather passed away in July 2020. A wide circle of family, friends, and coworkers came together to establish permanent support for nurse anesthesia students who will follow in Heather’s footsteps. Led by the incredible generosity of Melanie and Bunk Walker, Brian Garrett DNP’14, and Alaina Dunkelberger MSN’17, this fund has already raised over $45,000 in scholarship support. If you are interested in making a gift in memory of Heather Walker, visit and designate “Other,” then “Heather Walker Scholarship.”

An alumna from the ’70s decade has documented a $200,000 planned gift to establish the Pay it Forward Scholarship once the gift is realized. The donor received a full scholarship to Otterbein as a senior in high school and would like to pay it forward by helping a student who wouldn’t otherwise be able to attend college without incurring significant debt.

Otterbein has received a generous planned gift from the Sandra Paul Living Trust to support the Ken and Sandra Paul Annual Scholarship Fund. Sandra Rubino Paul ’46 passed away in 2019 and supported the University over many years with her husband, Ken Paul ’49, who passed in 1996. Her support also helped to fund the Memorial Stadium fencing and visitor seating in memory of Ken.

Barbara K. and Morton J. H’00 Achter made an additional generous commitment to support the Dr. Barbara Chapman Achter Nursing Scholarship. Barbara was instrumental in establishing the first nursing program at Otterbein and served as the chair of the nursing department during her tenure.

Otterbein has received a $25,000 gift from the Huntington Foundation to support the Huntington Five Cards Fund for Columbus City and Urban District Students. The foundation has committed $100,000 total in support for the fund.

By way of the Columbus Foundation, Otterbein has received a generous gift of more than $25,000 from the John G. and Winifred R. Hoyt Trust Fund. The gift supports the Hoyt Endowed Student Loan, which was created through a $100,000 planned gift from the couple in 1999.

Friends of Otterbein Marcia Pollock Farabee and her husband, Paul, have documented a bequest designated to the H. Robert Pollock Speech Education Award in honor of Marica’s late father and alumnus, Robert Pollock ’48, who was an educator and professor of speech at Ashland College.

An anonymous donor has given $20,000 to support Otterbein’s Academic Support Center and Disability Services, which helps students develop and strengthen the skills necessary to attain their academic goals. The center facilitates the development of learning strategies and skills in partnership with peers and professionals through tutoring, academic coaching, supplemental instruction, academic courses, and other learner-focused services.

Through the generosity of Lois Abbott Yost ’52, a loyal annual supporter who passed away in 2020, Otterbein will receive a planned gift for the Abbott-Yost Scholarship, established in 2017 to support a student majoring in communications, education, or music.

Nancy and Obie ’55 Obenauer of Bluffton, SC, have made a generous donation of $25,000 to the Nigel Chatman Student Emergency Fund. This fund will be used to help students with emergency needs such as food, toiletries, books, utilities, car repairs, and more. Otterbein is proud of what Nigel represented and wants to continue helping others like him achieve what they are also striving toward. Their incredible gift has pushed the fund over the threshold for fund endowment at Otterbein, making it an endowed fund which will ultimately keep the emergency-based fund active at the University in perpetuity. We cannot think of a better way to help celebrate Nigel’s incredible spirit and passion for Otterbein every year. To support the fund, please visit and choose “Student Emergency Fund” as your designation.

More Stories


We are committed to opportunity. Learn more at


We've been launching great futures since 1847. Learn more at


Otterbein 175th Anniversary