Otterbein University Theatre Opens Season with “Chicago”

Posted Sep 23, 2019

Otterbein University’s Department of Theatre and Dance and Department of Music present “Chicago” at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 26; 2 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 29; and 8 p.m. on Sept. 27- 28 and Oct. 3-5, in the Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove Street. Tickets cost $30. Call 614-823-1109 or visit

In roaring twenties Chicago, chorine Roxie Hart murders a faithless lover and convinces her hapless husband, Amos, to take the rap — until he finds out he’s been duped and turns on Roxie. Convicted and sent to death row, Roxie and Velma Kelly, another “Merry Murderess,” vie for the spotlight and the headlines, ultimately joining forces in search of the “American Dream” —fame, fortune, and acquittal. This sharp-edged satire features a dazzling score that sparked immortal staging by Bob Fosse.

The box office is open 12-4 p.m. Monday through Friday and one hour prior to performances. It is located in Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove St., Westerville. Student Rush discounts are available one hour prior to curtain, pending ticket availability.

Details:Otterbein University’s Department of Theatre and Dance and Department of Music present:
Sept. 26-Oct. 5, 2019
Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall
30 S. Grove St., Westerville
Book by Fred Ebb and Bob Fosse.
Music by John Kander; Lyrics by Fred Ebb.
Based on the play by Maurine Dallas Watkins.
Script adaptation by David Thompson.

Directed by:  Melissa Lusher
Choreographed by: Stella Hiatt Kane
Music Direction by: Lori Kay Harvey
Scenic Designer: Rob Johnson
Costume Designer: Thomas Martin
Lighting Designer: T.J. Gerckens
Stage Manager: Marissa Brown

Roxie                                                     Abby Kress
Velma                                                   Tatum Beck
Mama Morton                                  Payton Tevis
Billy Flynn                                           Kyle Brace
Amos                                                    Bradford Chaklos
Mary Sunshine                                  Christian Heinemann
Female Ensemble                            Ava Arkin, Maggie Ek, Amelia Elias, Hannah Roberts, Savannah Schakett, Cecilia Trippiedi
Male Ensemble                                 -Lincoln Belford, Kevin Buckley, Ryan Esparza, Jeremy Hurr, Ashton Lambert, Trevin Parker, Kenneth Remaklus
Swings                                                  Rachel Fish, Jeremy Holder

PERFORMANCE SCHEDULEAll performances in Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove St., Westerville
Thursday, Sept. 26               7:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27                    8 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 28                8 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 29                   2 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 3                   8 p.m.            
Friday, Oct. 4                         8 p.m.             
Saturday, Oct. 5                    8 p.m.