Otterbein University Theatre Presents “The School for Scandal”

Posted Feb 06, 2020

Otterbein University’s Department of Theatre and Dance presents “The School for Scandal” at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 13; 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 16; and 8 p.m. on Feb. 14,15, 20, 21, and 22, in the Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove Street. Tickets cost $22. Call 614-823-1109 or visit

The London gossip scene is buzzing. Masquerading behind the veneer of polite society, malicious prattlers trade gossip like gamblers and ruin reputations for sport. As much as we are familiar with reports of lies, rumors, backhanded comments, and fake-news, this is 1777 England, and the newspaper industry is just getting started.

Two brothers are tested for their trustworthiness by their wealthy uncle amidst a myriad of hilarious twits and subplots involving a crazy cast of characters including Lady Teazle, Lady Sneerwell, Surface, Backbite, Snake, and more. In what is often considered one of the best comedy of manners plays, deception is rampant, but virtue is still supreme.

The box office is open 12-4 p.m. Monday through Friday and one hour prior to performances. It is located in Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove St., Westerville. Student Rush discounts are available one hour prior to curtain, pending ticket availability.

The School for Scandal
By: Richard Brinsley Sheridan
Adapted by:  Mark Mineart

Feb. 13-16 and Feb. 20-22, 2020
Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall
30 S. Grove St., Westerville

Directed by: Mark Mineart
Student Scenic Design: Kailey Miller
Costume Designer: Rebecca White
Student Lighting Design: Kyle Krygielski
Sound Design: Ethan Brown
Stage Manager: Mary Nonno

Sir Peter Teazle                                              Evan Kret
Sir Oliver Surface                                          Desmond Fernandez
Rowley                                                  Stephan Blauch
Joseph Surface                                               Ashton Lambert
Charles Surface                                              Trevin Parker
Lady Teazle                                                    Grace Rucci
Lady Sneerwell                                              Emma Lou Andrews
Mr. Snake                                                        Sarah Simmons
Mrs. Candour                                                 Grace Dillon
Sir Benjamin Backbite                          Holden Boger
Old Crabtree                                                   Jeremy Holder
Maria                                                               Logan Reeder
Moses                                                              Ethan Walker
Ensemble: Marissa Davis, Hannah Line, Chase Pittman, Aiden Behrens, Tru Stites, Noah Carlin, Daniel Keeling, Max Pinson

All performances in Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall, 30 S. Grove St., Westerville.
Thursday, Feb. 13, 7:30p.m.                                                                                   
Friday, Feb. 14, 8 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 15, 8 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 16 , 2 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 20, 8 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 21, 8 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 22, 8 p.m.