Five Questions with Pre-Veterinary Junior Madison McCoy

Posted Dec 02, 2022

Pre Veterinary Junior Madison Mccoy
Madison McCoy

Name: Madison McCoy
Major: Biology (Pre-veterinary track)
Minor: Chemistry
Class year: 2024
Hometown: Wooster, Ohio

Why did you choose your major? 

I chose biology for my major because I grew up on a farm, which is where my love for animals grew. I also always found it interesting when the veterinarians would come to my farm and help my animals whenever they would need a check-up or would have an issue. So I knew I wanted to be a veterinarian from a young age. 

Have you done any internships? 

I did an internship this past summer with Mairs Veterinary Hospital, which is located in Wooster, Ohio. I worked as a veterinarian assistant. My main tasks were bringing in the animals and preparing them for a check-up or surgery, working in the pharmacy getting medications together, or working the front desk and scheduling appointments. 

Who is your favorite professor and why? 

My favorite professor is Dr. Jeff Lehman, who was my genetics professor. He is really helpful and would give me advice about my specific field. Also, since I’m on the volleyball team I sometimes need help on homework or notes, and he was very supportive when it came to providing some extra help. 

What is your favorite course and why? 

I have two favorite courses: genetics and ecology. These are my favorite because they are mainly specific to animals, which is specific to my field and I will use the information I learned in graduate school and while training to be a veterinarian. 

BONUS QUESTION: What is a piece of advice you’d give to first-year students? 

A piece of advice I would give to first-year students is to make sure you develop a relationship with your professors. I’ve been provided a lot of great advice from professors when asking questions about my future job field. Also, professors are great resources to help connect you to people in your future field, which could turn into a potential job or internship.