Scholarships and Awards in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

We believe in recognizing potential and talent. We offer a variety of awards and scholarships, some of which are funded by the generosity of private donors, that support, recognize and advance student learning and professional growth. These merit awards help ensure students advance their learning with meaningful experiences that include internships, research, and academic-related travel. Supporting our students in their academic, personal and professional development is an important part of what makes Otterbein a smarter way to learn.


Cardinal Science Scholars Scholarship

Awarded for full-time study in one of Otterbein’s STEM programs for four years as long as all academic and participation requirements are fulfilled. Visit our Cardinal Science Scholars page for more information.

James A. and Anna Bright Scholarship

Mr. Bright, a member of the Class of 1928, and Mrs. Bright. taught in Ohio schools for a combined total of 78 years. In addition, Mr. Bright served several years as President of the Ohio Retired Teachers’ Association. The Bright’s have established this fund as a tribute to their profession. Preference is given to a student majoring in chemistry or education.

Louis & Alice Weinland Fund

The income from this Memorial Fund is used to award scholarships to recipients who must be of high moral character, above average in scholarship, in need of financial assistance, and majoring in the field of chemistry.

P. Rexford Ogle Scholarship

Honors Rex Ogle, chemistry professor at Otterbein for 29 years. This scholarship supports a student majoring in chemistry at Otterbein University.

Richard Bradfield ’17 Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This was established in honor of Dr Bradfield for a student from a farm background who is planning a career related generally to agriculture. The student must have completed a minimum of two years of college work.

Richard E. Durst Scholarship Fund

The Richard E. Durst scholarship was established from a gift from Katherine Miles Durst in memory of her husband Richard E. Durst, who graduated from Otterbein College in 1929. The recipient will maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Dr. Roy H. Turley Endowed Scholarship

Created in memory of Roy Turley, former Otterbein University professor and Administrator and is to be used to provide scholarships for undergraduate students making satisfactory progress toward graduation. The award is based on financial need with preference given to students pursuing a career in Chemistry through industry and teaching.

Whitney/Turner Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This endowed scholarship, established by Judith E. Whitney, is for chemistry, Spanish, life science, or math majors.

Awards that Support Professional Opportunities

The Bert and Jane Horn Endowed Student Research Fund in the Sciences Provides discretionary resources in support of student research projects for undergraduate junior or senior students enrolled in major within the Department of Biology and Earth Science and the Chemistry Department.

Melinda S. Phinney Fund for Pre-Medical Experiences

To fund one to four Junior or Senior Pre-Med students with a GPA of at least 3.3 for travel for clinical premedical experiences.

Five Cards Experience Fund

Supports our Five Cardinal Experiences, which includes Research & Creative Work, Internships & Professional Experience, Community Engagement, Global & Intercultural Engagement, and Leadership & Citizenship. For more information visit the Five Cards Experience Funding page.

Student Research Fund

Provides funding for laboratory supplies and travel to present the results of research. Visit the Students Research Fund page for more information.

Awards that Recognize Student Achievement

The Priest-Miller Endowed Award

This endowed fund was established in memory of Verle A. and Margaret P. Miller to honor Dr. Verle A. Miller ’35, their mother, Margaret Priest Miller ’35 and Edna Mom Priest. Awarded annually to a full-time student who demonstrates outstanding achievement in either Chemistry or Life Science (awarded in conjunction with Biology).

J. Clarence and Floss G. Baker Award

This award was established in appreciation for education the namesakes’ received at Otterbein and to encourage young people to achieve academic excellence in mathematics. If no candidate is noted from mathematics, then recipient May be selected from the Department of Chemistry.

The Life Science Departmental Endowed Award

An outstanding full-time student who has completed a research project in the field of Botany or Microbiology (of environmental impact). Research project and preparation to have at least 5 terms of duration and may include taking courses at a field station or working for a government agency.

Dr. George Phinney Endowed Award

Part-time or full-time students(s) who have exhibited outstanding academic performance and research in the area of environmental studies/science.

Jeanne Willis Life Science Endowed Award

Sophomore or junior, who will be returning to Otterbein the following year, who contributed significantly to the Department, ex. lab assistant, departmental tutor or departmental representative (by faculty consensus).

Marion F. Dick ’43 Memorial Award

Junior or Senior student(s) for outstanding achievement in pre-professional health studies.

Charles W. Botts ’34 Memorial

Awarded following senior presentations to top senior research project(s) in the department.

The Department of Biology and Earth Science Student Travel Endowed Fund

The income from this Endowment shall be used to provide an annual travel stipend to students from the Department of Biology and Earth Sciences who have the opportunity to travel abroad and are pursuing research or scholarship opportunities as part of or on behalf of the Department of Biology and Earth Science

The Kyle Miller Memorial Fund

Scholarship for one or two Junior or Senior student(s) with leadership and passion for wildlife and conservation that exemplifies Kyle Miller’s spirit.

The Dr. Charles R. McFarland Endowed Scholarship in Science

Scholarship for a full-time incoming freshman or transfer student pursuing a Bachelor’s degree with a preference for studies in Biology and Earth Science who demonstrates financial need and strong academic potential. Determined by Financial Aid.

Otterbein Academic Awards in Chemistry

Awarded to student(s) in each class year who have a demonstrated record of ability and professional promise:

  • Outstanding First-Year Chemistry Award
  • Kekule Award: Given to a sophomore major
  • Dalton Award: Given to a junior major
  • Mendeleev Award: Given to a senior major

American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards

The awards below are supported by the American Chemical Society and their Technical Divisions. They are given annually to students with high achievement in each area. They are intended to encourage student interest in different fields of chemistry and to recognize students who display an aptitude for a career in chemistry.

  • Analytical Chemistry Award
  • Inorganic Chemistry Award
  • Organic Chemistry Award
  • Physical Chemistry Award
  • ACS Columbus Local Section Awards

Two awards supported by the ACS Columbus Local Section are given to a student in each class with demonstrated achievement, leadership, and professional promise:

  • Outstanding Junior Award
  • Outstanding Senior Award