Student Awards & Scholarships in Chemistry

We offer a variety of awards and scholarships, some of which are funded by the generosity of private donors, that support, recognize and advance student learning and professional growth. Supporting our students in their academic, personal and professional development is an important part of what makes Otterbein a smarter way to learn.


Choose Ohio First (COF) Cardinal STEM Scholar Scholarship
Awarded for full-time study in select STEM programs for four years as long as all academic and participation requirements are fulfilled. Visit the COF STEM Scholarship page for more information.

J. Clarence and Floss G. Baker Award
This award was established in appreciation for education the namesakes’ received at Otterbein and to encourage young people to achieve academic excellence in mathematics. If no candidate is noted from mathematics, then recipient May be selected from the Department of Chemistry.

James A. and Anna Bright Scholarship
Mr. Bright, a member of the Class of 1928, and Mrs. Bright. taught in Ohio schools for a combined total of 78 years. In addition, Mr. Bright served several years as President of the Ohio Retired Teachers’ Association. The Bright’s have established this fund as a tribute to their profession. Preference is given to a student majoring in chemistry or education.

Louis & Alice Weinland Fund
The income from this Memorial Fund is used to award scholarships to recipients who must be of high moral character, above average in scholarship, in need of financial assistance, and majoring in the field of chemistry.

P. Rexford Ogle Scholarship
Honors Rex Ogle, chemistry professor at Otterbein for 29 years. This scholarship supports a student majoring in chemistry at Otterbein University.

Richard Bradfield ’17 Memorial Endowed Scholarship
This was established in honor of Dr Bradfield for a student from a farm background who is planning a career related generally to agriculture. The student must have completed a minimum of two years of college work.

Richard E. Durst Scholarship Fund
The Richard E. Durst scholarship was established from a gift from Katherine Miles Durst in memory of her husband Richard E. Durst, who graduated from Otterbein College in 1929. The recipient will maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Dr. Roy H. Turley Endowed Scholarship
Created in memory of Roy Turley, former Otterbein University professor and Administrator and is to be used to provide scholarships for undergraduate students making satisfactory progress toward graduation. The award is based on financial need with preference given to students pursuing a career in Chemistry through industry and teaching.

Whitney/Turner Memorial Endowed Scholarship
This endowed scholarship, established by Judith E. Whitney, is for chemistry, Spanish, life science, or math majors.

Awards that Support Professional Opportunities

The Bert and Jane Horn Endowed Student Research Fund in the Sciences
This fund was established to provide academically talented students with an opportunity to benefit from the research experiences available within the Departments of Chemistry and Biology & Earth Science.

Melinda S. Phinney Fund for Pre-Medical Experiences
Funds one to four Junior or Senior Pre-Med students with a GPA of at least 3.3 for travel for clinical premedical experiences.

Five Cards Experience Fund
Supports our Five Cardinal Experiences, which includes Research & Creative Work, Internships & Professional Experience, Community Engagement, Global & Intercultural Engagement, and Leadership & Citizenship. For more information visit the Five Cards Experience Funding page.

Student Research Fund
Provides funding for laboratory supplies and travel to present the results of research. Visit the Students Research Fund page for more information.

Awards that Recognize Student Achievement

Otterbein Academic Awards
Awarded to student(s) in each class year who have a demonstrated record of ability and professional promise:

Outstanding First-Year Chemistry Award

  • Kekule Award: Given to a sophomore major
  • Dalton Award: Given to a junior major
  • Mendeleev Award: Given to a senior major

The Priest-Miller Endowed Award
This endowed fund was established in memory of Verle A. and Margaret P. Miller to honor Dr. Verle A. Miller ’35, their mother, Margaret Priest Miller ’35 and Edna Mom Priest. Awarded annually to a full-time student who demonstrates outstanding achievement in either Chemistry or Life Science (awarded in conjunction with Biology).

American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards
Awards supported by the American Chemical Society and their Technical Divisions and given annually to students with high achievement in each area. They are intended to encourage student interest in different fields of chemistry and to recognize students who display an aptitude for a career in chemistry.

  • Analytical Chemistry Award
  • Inorganic Chemistry Award
  • Organic Chemistry Award
  • Physical Chemistry Award

ACS Columbus Local Section Awards
Awards supported by the ACS Columbus Local Section and given to a student in each class with demonstrated achievement, leadership, and professional promise:

  • Outstanding Junior Award
  • Outstanding Senior Award