Graduate School Accreditation

Otterbein University holds regional accreditation from The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604 (800-621-7440;

Otterbein University is authorized to offer Baccalaureate, Masters and the Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees by the Ohio Department of Higher Education, 25 South Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (614-466-6000;

Additionally, Otterbein University belongs to the American Council on Education, the Association of American Colleges and Universities, the Council of Graduate Schools, the Council of Independent Colleges, and the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges, and is approved by the University Senate of the United Methodist Church.

Graduate Education Program Accreditation

Otterbein University and the Teacher Education Program is a member of or is approved by:

  1. The North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools.
  2. The American Association of University Women.
  3. The Association of American Colleges and Universities.
  4. National Association of Schools of Music.
  5. The Ohio College Association.
  6. The Ohio Department of Education (ODE).
  7. The American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education.
  8. National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education is a non-profit, non-governmental alliance of 33 national professional education and public organizations who support quality teaching. NCATE accreditation is a mark of distinction, and provides recognition that the college of education has met national professional standards for the preparation of teachers and other educators. In NCATE‘s performance based accreditation system, institutions must provide evidence of competent teacher candidate performance. Teacher candidates must know the subject matter they plan to teach and how to teach effectively so that all students learn.

Graduate Nursing Program Accreditation

Graduate nursing programs hold approval through the Ohio Board of NursingThe Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), and The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs.

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
“The baccalaureate degree program in nursing, master’s degree program in nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice program, and post-graduate APRN certificate program at Otterbein University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (”

Ohio Board of Nursing
17 South High Street • Suite 400 • Columbus • Ohio 43215-7410
Phone: 614-466-3947

The Council on Accreditation (COA)
The Nurse Anesthesia program is accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA) of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs, 222 South Prospect Avenue  Park Ridge, IL, 60068-4001. The telephone number is 847-692-7050