Golden Reunion: Class of 1972

The Class of 1972 Golden Reunion is scheduled for September 29 – October 2, 2022. Registration for this exciting celebration is now open!

If you’d rather register by mail, watch your mailbox for a packet of reunion materials. Or you can call the Alumni office at 614-823-1650.

Here’s a look at who’s already registered!

(registered guests’ names will appear here)

Still not convinced?

Check out the schedule and more details on the event in the menus below!

And don’t forget to to book a room using the information below if you’re coming in from out of town!

What do I need to know for my reunion?

Golden Reunion Schedule

The Golden Reunion is scheduled for September 29 – October 2, 2022.

Thursday, September 29, 2022

  •  7 p.m. Meet & Greet (The Point at Otterbein – 60 Collegeview Rd)

Friday, September 30, 2022

  • 9:30 a.m. | Coffee and Meet & Greet (The Point)
  • 10:30 a.m. | Class Photo (The Point)
  • 11:30 a.m. | Golden Reunion Welcome (The Point)
  • 12 p.m. | Picnic Luncheon Courtright (The Point)
  • 2-4 p.m. | Campus Tours (Walking or van)
  • 2:30 p.m. | Class of 1972 Special Library Program (Courtright Memorial Library)
  • 5 p.m. | Sierra Leone Program Alumni Reunion (Renaissance Columbus Westerville-Polaris – 409 Altair Pkwy)
  • 6 p.m. | Golden Reunion Happy Hour with Classes of 1971 & 1972 (Renaissance Columbus Westerville-Polaris – 409 Altair Pkwy)
  • 7 p.m. | Class of 1972 Reunion Celebration Dinner (Renaissance Columbus Westerville-Polaris – 409 Altair Pkwy)

Saturday, October 1, 2022

  • 9:30 a.m. | State of the University Address & Celebration of Otterbein (Cowan Hall)
  • 11 a.m. | Homecoming & Family Weekend Parade
  • 11:30 a.m. | OtterFest (Campus Center Lot West)
  • 2 p.m. | Otterbein Football Game vs. Capital University (Memorial Stadium)
  • 8 p.m. | Department of Theatre & Dance presents a performance of A Little Night Music – Tickets available here beginning August 30 (Fritsche Theatre at Cowan Hall) 

Sunday, October 2, 2022

  • 10:30 a.m. Worship Service at St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church (Otterbein Chapel – 88 Cochran Alley)

Memory Book

Thank you to everyone who submitted a memory book page so far! The memory book submission form will be open until September 7, 2022. Remember, even if you can’t make it to our reunion this fall, we still want to hear from you in your own words! Complete the memory book form today – you won’t regret it!

Where to Stay

Traveling to Westerville for the reunion?
To make your out of town stay more comfortable, we’ve arranged room blocks or special Otterbein rates at the following local hotels:

Renaissance Columbus Westerville-Polaris (1.5 miles)
409 Altair Parkway, Westerville, OH 43082
Special Golden Reunion Rate: $137 plus tax
1971 Booking Link
1972 Booking Link
To book by phone, call 833-427-0292 and identify yourself as a member of Otterbein’s Class of 1971 or 1972.

Aloft Westerville Hotel (1.7 miles)
32 Heatherdown Drive, Westerville, OH 43081
To book: Call 614-899-6560 x7114 and ask about the Otterbein Rate.

Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris (2.6 miles)
8411 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240
To book: Call 614-885-8400 and ask about the Otterbein Rate.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbus (2.7 miles)
2700 Corporate Exchange Drive, Columbus, OH 43231
To book: Call 614-890-8600 and ask about the Otterbein Rate.

Holiday Inn Express Columbus-Worthington (5 miles)
55 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, Ohio 43235
To book: Call 614-977-0520 and ask about the Otterbein Rate.

Courtyard Columbus Worthington (5.1 miles)
7411 Vantage Drive, Columbus, OH 43235
To book: Call Call 888-236-2427 and ask about the Otterbein Rate.

Legacy Gift


Like most classes celebrating their Golden Reunion at Otterbein, we’re raising funds for a class gift to mark the occasion. That means that all gifts received through June 30, 2022 – regardless of their designation or purpose – count towards our total Class Gift. 

However, unlike most classes, we’ve decided to create a special Library Textbook Affordability Endowment as part of this effort. As you may know, textbooks can be very, very expensive, and this can represent a significant financial burden for our students and their families. To help ease that burden, we ask for your support, in partnership with the Courtright Memorial Library, in creating this unique fund. With your help, earnings from the investment of the Fund will be used by the Library to purchase high-cost, high-demand textbooks and other course materials for wide student use. Every little bit we can do helps lower this barrier to student success at Otterbein.  

Whichever designation you choose, we hope you’ll make a gift today to help support Otterbein students now and in the future. It all helps Otterbein and it all counts towards our class gift!

There several ways to contribute to the Class of 1972 Legacy Gift:

  • Return the enclosed reply card in our spring 2022 mailing (April)
  • Visit
  • Individuals who have reached age 72 can make a gift from their IRAs and in doing so may reduce their taxable income. Contact your IRA administrator for more information or to request a transfer. Contact Kathleen Bonte (614-823-1400;, to alert her to any forthcoming stock transfers or IRA distributions.
  • Let the University know of any intentions to remember Otterbein in your estate plan.

If you have any questions about donating or would like to donate over the phone, please contact the Advancement Office at (614) 823-1400.

Class of 1972 Reunion Committee

  • Kathleen A. Butler
  • Margaret Morgan Doone
  • Lynn A. Hokanson
  • George P. Miller
  • Nancy Jean Smith
  • Nathan J. Van Wey
  • Diane Savage Witt
  • Keith Witt, Jr.