Volunteer & Stay Connected

We are fortunate to have alumni and families who want to stay connected to Otterbein and volunteer their time and talent to support our mission, values, and students. 

A variety of opportunities allow you to customize your experience and impact our community. Complete this form to let us know how you might want to be involved. Once we receive your form, we will contact you to discuss opportunities. 

Below are just a few of the options currently available and a look at the membership of some of our boards and councils. Please contact the team at alumni@otterbein.edu or submit a Volunteer Interest Form to learn more.

Reunion Committee Volunteer
Help plan a memorable experience for your classmates.

Admissions Volunteer
Host an event for accepted or prospective students, share your experience at an on-campus admissions event, refer a student, or staff a college fair table.

Career Development Volunteer
Speak on an alumni panel, provide a job shadowing opportunity, speak to a class, or educate through an informational interview.

Fundraising Volunteer
Assist the university with fundraising efforts.

Video Engagement Series Volunteer
Share your expertise or talents with Cardinal Nation through one of our video series.

Community Engagement Volunteer
Give back at the Otterbein Community Garden, volunteer at on-campus service events, or serve with the Promise House.

Special Event Volunteer
Lend a hand at Homecoming and Family Week, Alumni Awards, or regional events.

Social Media Ambassador
Follow us on social media and share content with your social network.

Alumni Council

The mission of the Otterbein Alumni community is to build and maintain meaningful, lifelong relationships that engage alumni and the University by creating new opportunities, fostering lifelong learning, building mutual support, and expanding the Otterbein experience. The Otterbein University Alumni Council acts as an advisory board for the Otterbein Office of Engagement within the division of Institutional Advancement. Alumni Council members are all Otterbein alumni, and each member is appointed for a three-year term. The Council meets three times per year.  After completion of their term on the Alumni Council, members move into the consultant category where they can remain advisers to the Engagement team.

2023-2024 Alumni Council Members

  • Carl Bates ’86
  • Annette Harting Boose ’94
  • Bob Buchan ’76
  • Amy Trimble Burton ’98, P’18
  • Erin Sites Ensign ’08 | Chair
  • Fred Glasser ’69
  • Leondra James Gonzales ’13
  • Ben Hoeger ’07
  • Matt Lofy ’08
  • Holly Schutz McFarland ’78 | Chair-elect
  • Tammy Roberts Myers ’88
  • Bryana Anderson Ross MBA ’09
  • Kathryn Felsenthal Stephens ’97 | Trustee
  • Wesley Thorne ’96
  • Sheronda Whitner ’12
  • Kyle Williams ’07

Young Alumni Board

The Young Alumni Board (or YAB, for short) provides guidance to the Office of Alumni Relations in regards to the young alumni community (all alumni age 40 and younger). The Board will serve as representatives of the greater young alumni community and seeks to engage other young alumni in events and programming for the University.

The YAB is composed of selected members of the young alumni community who have demonstrated leadership, vision and commitment to the University through event attendance, giving and leadership/strategic planning. This Board meets two times per calendar year in January and August, and members serve two-year terms.

Please share your ideas for future programs or to be considered for membership by contacting Marcus Fowler, Director of Alumni & Family Programs.

2023-2024 Young Alumni Board

  • Shaquille Alexander ’18
  • Ladan Barnes ’19, MSAH ’21
  • Evan Brandao ’21
  • Kaitlyn Brooks ’20
  • Tylina Burdell ’17
  • Rain Carpenter ’20
  • Kiersten Curtis ’14
  • Michelle Dippold ’13
  • Tonia Dunson-Dillard ’20
  • Chelci Gardner ’10
  • Dassan Jefferson ’19, MBA ’22
  • Richard Ji ’13 MBA ’15
  • Joseline Martinez-Cortez ’22
  • Janelle Maur ’12
  • Jake McDivitt ’23
  • Megan McLain ’07
  • Madison Moore ’20
  • Kaelin Nelson ’19
  • Mariah Nevels ’19
  • Josh Plichta ’18
  • Kim Roseler ’16
  • Elise Schneller ’22
  • Grant Seredick ’17, MSAH ’19
  • Olivia Smith ’22
  • Mitchell Snyder ’17
  • Jessica Wenger ’17

Student Alumni Board

2022-2023 Student Alumni Board Members

  • Chloe Aronowitz ’25
  • Nimco Awil ’24
  • Ryan Bodeker ’23
  • Nicole Bryant ’23
  • Muna Chimoriya ’26
  • Maura Fischer ’26
  • Kailah Gregory ’25
  • Elena Hocker ’23
  • Ashlynn Kelley ’25
  • Madi Kiraly ’25
  • Angela Maio ’24
  • Jacob McDivitt ’23
  • Becca Morrison ’24
  • Jessica Navarro-Mendez ’24
  • Madelyn Nelson ’23
  • Mason Nolan ’24
  • Kenzie Prickett ’24
  • Maha Rhaloui ’24
  • Helen Santos ’24
  • Hannah Shadd ’24
  • Wesley Utsler ’23
  • Abby Vitali ’25
  • Natalie Wallace | President
  • Timothy Wotring ’23